About us / Meet the team

The organizational culture within Health[e]Foundation is an open and positively driven atmosphere with a serious commitment to improving healthcare, especially in resource-limited settings. It is a small, flexible organization, with well-established contacts internally, as well as externally, with authors, local academia and institutes.

Team Amsterdam

The executive management team consists of the executive director and the managing director. They are responsible for daily governance and supervision. The executive team, together with the office staff in Amsterdam (project managers and an IT/web administrator), are the core of Health[e]Foundation.

Prof. dr. Fransje van der Waals
Creative & Executive Director


Nadine Pakker
Managing Director



Myrna Derksen
Project Manager



Renée van Hoof
Project Manager



Judith de Lange
Project Manager


Marcellino Santoso
IT Manager & Webmaster


Health[e]Foundation is all about people. In order to do what we promise as a global health foundation dedicated to training and education – providing up-to-date knowledge and information on all aspects of health – we need a perfect team! Fransje van der Waals, Executive Director Health[e]Foundation

International team

As a small and flexible organization, Health[e]Foundation is able to grow, develop and reach out to more participants every year. The core team in the Netherlands is supported by country representative, local project officers, consultants and CPD officers, as well as volunteers and freelancers from all over the world. Working with this strong international team increases the efficiency of organizing workshops and other activities. Our international team helps us to sustain a stable platform in their regions and we are very thankful for their endless support and motivation. Without them, we would not be able to reach out to so many participants and community members as we do.

Marie-Michèle Umulisa
Country representative

Hanipha Kakooza
Country representative

Oliva Bazirete
Project officer

Annemijn Blok-Versteeg

Liesje Tempelman
South Africa

Ibrahim Yimer
CPD coordinator

Diriba Bekele
Project officer